Agile Project Management Certifications

The field of Agile project management offers various certifications that are highly regarded in the industry. Here are some of the top certifications for an Agile practitioner, along with their descriptions, website information, time required, and prerequisites:

  1. Certified ScrumMaster (CSM) by Scrum Alliance
    • Description: This certification focuses on the fundamentals of Scrum, including its principles and processes. It is ideal for those looking to understand Scrum roles, meetings, and artifacts.
    • Website: Scrum Alliance – CSM
    • Time Required: Generally, a two-day course followed by an exam.
    • Prerequisites: Attend an in-person, 16-hour course taught by a Certified Scrum Trainer (CST).
  2. Professional Scrum Master (PSM) by
    • Description: The PSM certification offers a deep understanding of Scrum practices and values. It’s well-suited for those who are implementing Scrum in their workplace.
    • Website: – PSM
    • Time Required: There are three levels (PSM I, II, and III), each requiring more advanced understanding and experience.
    • Prerequisites: No formal prerequisites, but a thorough understanding of Scrum is recommended.
  3. SAFe Agilist (SA) by Scaled Agile
    • Description: This certification is for those who will be working in a scaled Agile environment. It covers Lean-Agile principles and practices of the Scaled Agile Framework (SAFe).
    • Website: [Scaled Agile – SAFe Agilist](
    • Time Required: Typically, a two-day training course followed by an exam.
    • Prerequisites: 5+ years of experience in software development, testing, business analysis, product, or project management, and experience in Scrum.
  4. PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP) by Project Management Institute
    • Description: This certification is a blend of Agile approaches and covers Scrum, Kanban, Lean, extreme programming (XP), and test-driven development (TDD). It’s suitable for those who use Agile practices in their projects or whose organizations are adopting Agile methods.
    • Website: Project Management Institute – PMI-ACP
    • Time Required: 21 contact hours of training in Agile practices and 12 months of Agile project experience or 8 months of Agile project experience along with 12 months of general project experience within the last 5 years.
    • Prerequisites: Secondary degree and 21 contact hours of training in Agile practices.
  5. ICAgile Certified Professional (ICP) by International Consortium for Agile
    • Description: This certification is more about the mindset and principles of Agile rather than a specific framework. It is suitable for those who are beginning their Agile journey and want to understand its values and principles.
    • Website: International Consortium for Agile – ICP
    • Time Required: Varies depending on the training provider, usually a two to three-day course.
    • Prerequisites: There are no set prerequisites, but some familiarity with Agile principles and concepts is beneficial.

Each of these certifications has its unique focus and suits different professional needs and career paths in the Agile domain. The time required and prerequisites may vary slightly depending on the training providers and the specific requirements at the time of your application. Always check the respective websites for the most current information.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *